Skip to content
PharmaGuide

Features

The supplement and medication co-pilot you actually need.

Most apps check one bottle at a time. PharmaGuide reads your full stack as a system — flagging interactions, depletions, dose accumulation, recalls, and quality issues across every supplement and medication you take.

Sourced from 200,000+ NIH labelsClinician-reviewedOffline-firstPrivacy by architecture

Medication Depletion: Your medication may be depleting nutrients. We catch it.

Some common prescriptions are associated with lower levels of specific vitamins and minerals over months and years — for example, long-term metformin and vitamin B12. We map supported medications to the nutrients they may affect, and surface what to consider discussing with your clinician. A lower level is not a diagnosis, and it does not by itself mean you need a supplement.

  • Add a medication → see which nutrients may be affected
  • Evidence-graded mappings from published research; mappings still under review are not shown
  • Questions you can bring to your clinician — never a prescription
  • Updated as new pharmacology research is published

In practice

  • MetforminVitamin B12 — lower levels more likely with long-term, higher-dose use
  • PPI (omeprazole, pantoprazole)Iron status and calcium carbonate absorption with long-term use
  • Loop diuretic (furosemide)Calcium and Thiamine — more lost in urine with long-term use

Sources · NIH Office of Dietary SupplementsDailyMed drug labelingPubMed clinical pharmacology

Medication added

Metformin

Type 2 diabetes · long-term use

can lower
Vitamin B12
lower with long-term use

↘ replenishment suggested · discuss with clinician

Stack Intelligence: Your full stack. Checked as a system.

Most apps check one bottle at a time. PharmaGuide reads your stack as a system — multi-way interactions, dose overlap across products, and the timing conflicts that don't show up in any single label. The result is a stack status you can act on.

  • Multi-way analysis — interactions between any pair AND beyond
  • Cross-product dose summation — zinc from three products is added up and checked against the 40 mg/day upper limit
  • Stack status that leads with your most serious finding and counts what needs review
  • Timing conflicts surfaced (e.g. calcium ↔ levothyroxine 4-hour separation)

In practice

  • Magnesium AM + Magnesium PM + Multi w/ magnesiumTriple-counted — combined dose flagged against tolerable upper intake
  • Fish oil + turmeric + warfarinTwo bleeding-risk flags — fish oil and turmeric each add to warfarin's effect; review with your prescriber
  • Iron supplement + calcium-rich multi + thyroid medication3-way timing conflict — separate iron and calcium from thyroid by 4 hours

Sources · NIH ODS Health Professional fact sheetsCochrane systematic reviews

Ingredient & Quality: Active and inactive ingredients. Including the ones most apps skip.

We parse the active ingredients AND the inactive ones — fillers, binders, allergens, and the proprietary blends most apps skip. Every product gets a PG Score out of 100 across six parts, so you can compare brands on substance, not packaging.

  • Active and inactive ingredients parsed — fillers, allergens, excipients
  • Proprietary blends read as printed — the total and the ingredients inside, with undisclosed amounts marked unknown, never guessed
  • Probiotic strain + CFU and prebiotic fiber checks — strains named, live counts and fiber type verified, not just 'blend'
  • PG Score across six parts: Formulation 20, Dose 20, Evidence 20, Transparency 15, Verification 15, Safety & Hygiene 10
  • Third-party certifications (USP, NSF, Informed Sport) earn full credit only when confirmed in the certifier's registry; a label claim alone counts for less

In practice

  • "Energy Blend 850mg" with no per-ingredient doseAmounts not disclosed — ingredients inside still get checked for interactions; dose-based conclusions are marked limited
  • "50 billion CFU probiotic" with strains unnamedStrain-gap flag — CFU counts mean little without the specific strains the evidence is built on
  • Capsule with magnesium stearate + titanium dioxideInactive-ingredient flag — relevant for some autoimmune conditions
  • Two melatonin brands, same dosePG Score divergence — third-party tested vs. unverified, evidence weight differs

Sources · NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD)NIH NCCIH ingredient research

Supplement facts · parsed

Active

  • Magnesium glycinate200 mg
  • L-theanine100 mg

Proprietary blend · as disclosed

850 mg
  • Ashwagandha rootnot disclosed
  • Rhodiolanot disclosed
  • Holy basilnot disclosed

Inactive

Magnesium stearate · vegetable cellulose · titanium dioxide

Personal Fit: What's safe for one person may not be for another.

Your conditions, age, current medications, and goals reshape every recommendation. Pregnancy. Hypertension. Anticoagulant therapy. Each modifies the safety calculus. We profile-gate every interaction so you only see warnings that actually apply to you.

  • Profile gating — irrelevant warnings stay hidden, relevant ones surface clearly
  • Medication ↔ condition flags — surfaces when something in your stack is risky given a diagnosis you've entered
  • Pregnancy + breastfeeding flags treated as separate, never combined
  • Drug-class awareness: SSRIs, statins, anticoagulants, hypoglycemics, more
  • Goal-driven stack recommendations (sleep, energy, recovery, longevity)

In practice

  • St. John's Wort + sertraline + 'mood support' goalContraindicated — serotonin syndrome risk; do not combine
  • Potassium + ACE inhibitor + 'kidney disease' profileAvoid — hyperkalemia risk with reduced kidney function; surfaced because all three are in your profile
  • Vitamin A over 10,000 IU + 'pregnancy' profile flagContraindicated above 10,000 IU/day of preformed vitamin A; caution below that
  • High-dose niacin (1 g/day or more) + statinCaution — watch for muscle pain or weakness; tell your prescriber

Sources · NIH ODS health professional resourcesPubMed clinical reviews

Your profile

Pregnant · 22wHypertensionSSRIGoal · sleep

Adapted recommendations

  • Magnesium glycinate · eveningGood fit
  • St. John's WortContraindicated · SSRI
  • Vitamin A over 10,000 IUContraindicated · pregnancy
  • Iron + multiCaution · timing

Nutrient Accumulation: When 'more' becomes too much.

Fat-soluble vitamins accumulate. Mineral overdoses are real. We track nutrients across your stack against the **Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA)** and the **Tolerable Upper Intake Level (UL)** — and flag when your intake crosses into the zone where supplementation may do more harm than good.

  • RDA + UL tracking per nutrient across the entire stack
  • Fat-soluble accumulation flags (vitamin A, D, E, K)
  • Mineral excess detection (iron, zinc, selenium)
  • Visualized as a per-nutrient meter so you see the headroom

In practice

  • Multi + dedicated vitamin D + cod liver oil~6,000 IU vitamin D/day — above the adult UL of 4,000 IU
  • Multi + zinc lozenges + zinc-forward immune blend~70 mg zinc — above 40 mg UL; chronic excess depletes copper
  • Iron supplement + iron-fortified multi~80 mg iron — past the 45 mg UL; stomach upset and constipation come first

Sources · NIH ODS dietary reference intakesFDA dietary supplement guidance

Daily intake · stack-wide

vs. UL

  • Vitamin D6000 / 4000 IU
  • Zinc70 / 40 mg
  • Vitamin C800 / 2000 mg
  • Magnesium350 / 350 mg

Recall & Safety: When the FDA pulls something, you find out.

The FDA recalls dietary supplements regularly — adulterated formulations, undeclared pharmaceuticals, contamination, mislabeling. Most users never hear about it. PharmaGuide checks products against FDA recalls and banned or adulterant ingredients, so a product in your stack doesn't quietly become unsafe without you noticing.

  • FDA recall monitoring for dietary supplements
  • Banned and adulterant ingredients flagged with the reason and the FDA source
  • Recalled products stay findable — a scan shows the recall instead of "not found"
  • FDA warning letter awareness for flagged brands

In practice

  • Brand X recalled for undeclared sildenafilStack alert — flagged if that product is in your stack
  • Product containing a banned ingredientBlocked — no score shown, just the reason and the source

Sources · FDA Recalls, Market Withdrawals & Safety AlertsFDA dietary supplements

Active alerts · your stack

FDA recall · class I

NaturalBoost Energy — undeclared sildenafil

In your stack · scanned March 12 · all lots

Banned ingredient · blocked

Kratom leaf — not lawful as a supplement

No score shown · reason and FDA source listed

Last checked8 minutes ago

Bonus capability

A report your clinician can actually read.

Export your full stack — every supplement, every medication, every flagged interaction with mechanism and evidence — as a clean PDF sized for the 7-minute primary care visit. Or copy-paste it straight into MyChart's secure messaging.

  • PDF export sized for clinical workflow
  • Plain-text version for MyChart and patient portals
  • Includes evidence levels and recommendation language

The foundation

Built on what makes the rest possible. By design.

  • Sourced from 200,000+ NIH labels

    Catalog pre-loaded on your device. Sub-10ms lookup. Updates over the air.

  • Offline-first

    Scan and analyze with one bar of signal — pharmacy, flight, supplement aisle.

  • Private by design

    Core stack checks run on-device with privacy-first storage and safeguards.

  • Clinician-reviewed

    Interaction guidance reviewed by licensed pharmacists.

What we don't do

  • We don't diagnose conditions
  • We don't replace your clinician
  • We don't tell you to stop medications
  • We don't sell your health data

Ready to see your stack the way we do?

Join the beta. Opening in waves through 2026.